Taking Sides- Good v. Evil

She will do him good and not evil all the days of her life. (Proverbs 31:12)

Do I have my husband’s best interest at heart? Do I purpose to do that which will benefit him, or am I prone to getting even when I fell slighted? Do I have the attitude that my husband is there to help me, and not the other way around?

I don’t want to be one of those women who put down men in general, or her husband specifially. These days, woman get their knickers in a knot because of men who say nasty things about women, even things like “That’s just like a woman” … these same women think that it’s perfectly acceptable to sit around throwing barbs at men. It’s not. It’s mean, it’s insulting, and it doesn’t even come close to doing “good”. If we want to be treated with respect, dignity, and caring, we can do no less than model it ourselves.

Damaging our husband’s reputation before others, insulting him, being vindictive– it’s all evil. It’s sin.

We can have victory over this! It’s not easy. But we have access to Someone who can carry us along.

I want to do my husband good. That means I must purposely walk away from any action or attitude that “does him evil”– always. Purposely, because we can cause evil just by omission of good actions.

“…hold fast that which is good. Abstain from all appearance of evil.” (1 Thess. 5: 21b,22)

We need to care what image we are showing the world. People tend to jump to conclusions, don’t they? Don’t leave anything up to interpretation. Leave no question in your husband’s mind as to whose side you are on. Always.

Leave a Reply

