I am SO not a morning person.

She riseth also while it is yet night, and giveth meat to her household, and a portion to her maidens. (Proverbs 31:15)

I am not a morning person. In fact, my husband once had a ballcap that said, “I didn’t wake up grumpy– she’s stilll asleep”. I might’ve been annoyed and insulted had it not been so true. I will admit, though, that I can and have enjoyed early mornings occassionally. It’s fresh & new, smells good, and is very pretty. Most of the time, though, I subscribe to Christian singer & comedian Mark Lowery’s take on the early hours: “If God had wanted me to see the sunrise, He’d’ve put it at noon.”

I don’t think this verse agrees.

The Proverbs 31 woman gets up early. Early enough that it’s still dark out (and I’m assuming year-round, not just during the winter). Her day starts early, and she gets right to the task of feeding her family and the help (so I’m guessing her “maidens” weren’t kitchen staff).

This seems to go back to industriousness and generosity, but also adds in there nurturing. Most women I know are hardwired to be nurturing, but we can also be selfish, and self-absorbed, not noticing or caring about whether other people have needs, or trying to meet those needs.

So, this woman got up early and prepared breakfast for her family and the help. I’m taking a stab here that it wasn’t a “corn flakes or toast, there’s the bowls and spoons, help yourself” (like most mornings at my house) kind of deal. There was thought and work involved. And she didn’t make them wait til after her first cup of coffee (or tea).

I’m not the Proverbs 31 woman here. I don’t tend to get up before everyone, and breakfast is generally a typical one for this part of the world– cereal, toast, maybe boiled eggs, or muffins– and I make my tea while I’m shuffling around the kitchen bleary-eyed from lack of sleep. I still get teased about falling asleep at the table and having toast thrown at me from the kid in the highchair.

I clearly have a long ways to go before I’m able to live up to verse 15.

Leave a Reply

